Wisconsin240sx
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A place for Wisconsin 240sx owners and enthusiasts to meet.

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

New to Forum, need advice for S13.

Go down 
+2
s13.240sx
stglephti
6 posters
AuthorMessage
stglephti
Be nice, I'm new

New to Forum, need advice for S13. Empty
PostSubject: New to Forum, need advice for S13.   New to Forum, need advice for S13. EmptyMon Apr 25, 2011 9:01 pm

Hey guys. Obviously I'm new to the WI 240 forum, but not to the scene. This is going to be a long post, so I apologize in advance.

I bought a 91 hatchback in January and have been using the search button ever since. I should have done a little more searching before buying but I got a little over zealous. Car has 203,000 miles on the body, engine has been swapped for another KA24DE motor, but the swap was not done well at all. Being a mechanic, I should have thought a little more and drooled a little less when I bought it, but I didn't. For example, vacuum lines plugged with bolts, wiring harness cobbled together, wiring under dash is spliced with those twist connectors for residential wiring. The biggest issue has been the fact that the plug for the #1 cylinder was stripped out and does not tighten. I can put a heli-coil in but haven't had time (Mechanic's car is always the last to get worked on). So, the engine misses at idle, runs rich, backfires slightly from exhaust, and generally runs poorly, specifically at idle. Also leaks gear oil like a sieve from the tranny. Thats the bad. The good is: motor has 150-155 psi compression on all cylinders, there is minimal rust on the body, and the interior is pretty clean.